Urban Exploring on Youtube

One of the things I’ve been occupying myself with is youtube.  Youtube has videos of everything, but I’ve been looking at particular videos. Urban Exploring. I’m not sure what happened, but I clicked on a video and found myself immersed in one youtubers adventures through abandoned asylums and schools. Soon I started looking around and seemed to have found some decent channels. Which has led to this post. I’m going to recommend some of the channels for you.

Exploring with Josh

The very first channel I came across was this one He worded the titles of his videos in such away that I clicked. The words ‘abandoned’, ‘secret’, and ‘government’ were just a few words that grabbed my attention in the first video I watched of him. In it, him and a friend were going through an old government building. Here’s the video:

His name is Josh, and he really loves abandoned buildings. I am so amused by watching him get so excited over peeling paint and objects left behind. In some videos he tries to give a bit of a history of the place, which being a history major, I really appreciate.

He usually goes with his friends, most of which have their own channels too. There’s Cody, who seems like a cool guy. He has a video of him getting his diving license and diving in a shipwreck (which is really up my alley), and he also has a scary experience in a building alone. I really like the vibe he gives off. It seems really chill and I want to meet him. Here’s the shipwreck video:

Then there’s John who appears to have a fashion sense that I really want. He is really adorable, and I enjoy watching his videos. Especially when he’s with Steve, who is also on my list because he is also adorable. Both keep me pretty entertained in these buildings. And as always, you see Josh in the background filming and being really excited about everything, so that’s a plus. Also, Steve and John have caught some interesting experiences on camera by accident, much like the other people on this list. Check them out!

Another channel to check out is Dan Bell’s. He has various series of buildings he goes through, and there’s something really relaxing about them. Not only does he do research, but he’s quite good at filming. He’s had a couple creepy run-ins with some weird things, but is really brave and stays. I really love his Dead Motel series where he visits abandoned motels and hotels. There’s something eerie and beautiful about an old, ruined motel. I pass one when I drive up to school, but I always forget to look at which exit I would take to get to it. I always wanted to explore it, so I guess Dan’s channel is basically a dream come true. I also could listen to him talk all day. No really! There’s something about how he sounds and how he talks that is just so…soothing? Even when he swears it’s amazing.

Check out one of the Dead Motel series videos:

The last is a man who goes by Frank. I first discovered him because of my mom. She follows Amy Bruni on Twitter. If you don’t know who Amy Bruni is, she was on Ghost Hunters and is very active in the twitter community. She shared this article from a website called weekinweird.com involving a guy who explores abandoned mines. In a particular mine, he comes across some weird experiences such as things moving on their own, and voices being heard wen he was the only one in there, with one tunnel and one way in and out. My mom watched these videos and told me to check them out, and my oh my, were they creepy!  I then proceeded to look at his channel, and found that he went to some interesting mines, and being a freak, I LOVE mines. He also is really knowledgeable about mines, so you might learn a thing or two. If you want to watch the creepy ghost mine videos, the article has them posted, or they’re on his channel. Really though, his channel is really cool!

There’s one thing I really want to point out about all of these guys. None of them take anything or purposely vandalize the locations they visit. They all seem to really enjoy these buildings and think there is a beauty in the decay. I agree and wish I had the guts to do this. I’m not afraid of ghosts, I’m afraid of running into some people doing weird satanic rituals, or falling down a hole. I’m not the type of person who should be urban exploring, so I live vicariously through these guys.

I hope you check them all out, because I think they’re worth the watch. Anywho, get back to your lives. Or live like me on youtube.

ALSO, I saw one direction tonight, and before you write me off for seeing them, know this: Never have I ever heard someone on stage actually tell me that they hope I’m having a good time because they are there to entertain me. NEVER. I thought that was interesting. That, and they do put on a great show. So, really, those directioners seem to know which popstars to pick. I think that show might have been better than when I saw Aaron Carter in 2002.

Leave a Reply

