Some Youtube channels/videos I’ve discovered!

So, last week before heading down to Chicago (which I will write about eventually), I was going through another paranormal kick. See, before I was obsessed with Chernobyl and even urban exploring, I had a love for anything paranormal. When I was in 5th grade, I asked to stay up past my bedtime just to watch Ghost Hunters. When I was probably around 6, I loved the show So Weird on Disney Do you guys remember that show? I wish they still made shows like that, but I guess because it from the late 90’s early 2000’s, it was more about the introduction to the internet into kid’s lives, and how this girl, Fee, was using it to investigate the paranormal.

And even earlier, you can trace my weird love from me just being a creepy child. Things like me having an imaginary friend at the age of about 3 that lived in the wall between my parents bedroom and the bathroom. What was weird, however, was that this “friend” wore old timey clothes, something that a 3 year old shouldn’t understand. Of course, I’ve always been a history nerd, so I suppose I could have just been ahead of the curve in that department, or not. Other things, like having a recurring nightmare of a bird that watched me while I slept (I think now, that this wasn’t malevolent, but rather my spirit guide, which, idk kinda weird. Would have thought it was a cat), or the time the “lady in white” scared away the “scary man”. Or the week I was certain there were dogs at the end of my bed drinking out of a water bowl even though we owned none, and finally the man who sat in front of my bedroom door and watched me (which I think now was a shadow person). I don’t know, you may not even believe me. That’s fine. I don’t care. I know that I was a weird child and an even weirder adult.

When you can still find the paranormal section in your local library, then you know you’ve got some issues. So, every once and a while, I go through kicks of intense obsessions with the paranormal. This was one of those weeks. I somehow stumbled onto a video, with which I have no recollection of, then onto another from there.

This video appeared to be a very amateur group of high schoolers who got to investigate their high school in Nebraska. At first I had my doubts. I thought it would just be Ghost Adventures all over again. It wasn’t. These guys knew their stuff, and while they were somewhat unnerved by what they found, they were more professional than a lot of ghost hunting teams are on tv. Check it out here or watch it below.

Unfortunately, episode two has not been uploaded and this is about a year old already. Colin, the main investigator seems to have gone to college. I did some digging (in a not so creepy way), and found that he seems to be focused on a singing career currently. He even auditioned/was on American Idol? I don’t know. All I know about American Idol is that sometimes I just watch bad auditions on youtube. I’ve never been fond of the show (in fact I kind of hate it but whatever).

The next is a miniseries I also accidentally stumbled upon. It’s been going on since about 2011, and is on it’s 14th season. I’m just now on the 11th. Let me tell you, season 10? It HURTS. Anyway, it starts off with a girl, Sunshine, who’s just moved into a new house with her mom and thinks it’s haunted. Her mom doesn’t believe her so she decides to film to see if she’ll catch anything…What starts out as just searching to proof leads to even bigger questions and scarier hauntings. Basically, Sunshine fights some pretty evil things. Along for the ride are her mom, Kat (with whom Sunshine is very close to), a family friend they refer to as Uncle Tommy, who is pretty adorable, and Nolan (my fave), this really weird guy that found them randomly to give them a message and ends up being Sunshine’s best friend (creating a new otp for me…).

0
Sunshine, her mom, and Nolan

What started as a youtube show starring Paige Mckensie as Sunshine, has led to two movies, a book series 5104y5p5j7l(just started the first and it’s really good), and a tv show. I’m excited for all of it because this story is something I wish I had when I was younger, but am glad to have now. Here’s the channel. Start on season 1 if you don’t want to be hella confused. Or if you’re lazy, check out the first episode below. I do recommend watching the seasons in playlists tho so that you dont have to keep clicking on the next episode. Happy watching! Or should I say witching…because…You know what, nevermind.

 

 

Leave a Reply

