Music, podcasts, and other things

Whoa, hey guys! I wasn’t planning on updating at all today, but I noticed that I had 9 visitors Monday, (which, I mean, for me is A LOT), and I thought I would grace anymore visitors Tuesday with something new. So, buckle up guys! This post has a lot of links and videos/whatnot. (sorry, not sorry).

I’ve made little progress in my War and Peace post, due to not having the time (or patience) to continue it. It will happen. I want to remind you guys that I am technically graduating on June 12. There is a ‘technically’ because I’m a credit short, so we’ll see how that goes. And since I have yet to have a job lined up, when I’m not job hunting, I will have a lot of free time. With which I intend to finish that series, along with other long awaited series, such as the posts on Girl, Most Likely (which still get hits even if they’re shitty?), as well as maybe finishing those drafts I have written.

There are also some really exciting things coming up.

First is the 30th anniversary of Chernobyl. Not quite exciting for everyone. In fact, it’s actually a very sad day because not only did one person loose their life in the actual blast, but several (thousands and probably more still to come) more died due to other reasons. Anyway, if you haven’t noticed, I am a history major who is extremely obsessed with history, and one of my specialties (outside of shipwrecks) is Chernobyl. I’m extremely judgmental if you don’t know it’s history before watching Chernobyl Diaries (which is SO bad that maybe one day I will post about everything wrong and disgusting and inappropriate about it ), or if you don’t even think about looking it up afterwards. I try not to be judgmental because nuclear reactors aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s hard for me. Also, since the anniversary is really soon, a lot of people are writing their yearly articles about the disaster. The most recent that I’ve found is USA Today’s interesting “interactive” article HERE. If you want a more up to date look at links, I’m going to shamelessly promote my twitter HERE. Somewhere I have an old blog post on tumblr about some books on Chernobyl, which I’ll either rewrite, or post a link at some point.

In June, I graduate (as mentioned above). Three days after Catfish and the Bottlemen will be in Milwaukee again, and since I missed the last concert, I’m going to try my best to get to this one and tell Van to please stop wearing sweaters on stage because I’m afraid he’s going to overheat. They have a new cd coming out on May 27, so I hope to get that before the concert (which is probably unlikely due to the lack of a job, but maybe likely due to a graduation?). Based on the latest song released by them, Soundcheck, this CD is going to be hella rad. I really love that song. Check it out:

Later, on June 26, there will be an race at Road America, which is very fortunate for me, since there will be no Milwaukee Indyfest (which is sad because I love the Milwaukee Mile). Then comes Summerfest, which is always a trip. On July 27 is the Emotional Roadshow in Milwaukee, which is Twenty One Pilots’ arena tour (so proud of them!), which I’m luckily going to as well. Hopefully I’ll actually write about that concert because I never got around to writing about the last one! (Probably due to me getting sick AGAIN and then not being well for the rest of the year/ even now).

In addition to all of these exciting things I have, I also have been doing some other things lately. I’ve been watching old Ghost Adventures episodes, and you know, I think it would be interesting to do a few posts about that. They can be so dramatic, but also got some of the most interesting evidence I’ve seen. A new ghost hunting show, Ghost Brothers, just started on Destination Ghosts, I mean Destination America. I thought it was really good. I think I’m qualified to say that since I’ve been watching these kind of shows since 2005, and had an avid interest in ghosts long before that. Anyway, these guys are really funny and did some interesting things on their investigation that I would not have thought of. Don’t get me started on Nick Groff’s new show, Paranormal Lockdown. That show was so damn good.

So there’s those. Another thought is maybe going back and re-watching Murder, She Wrote and reviewing episodes. I just listened to a cool podcast about it. I’m a total nerd about that show. I mean, I’m a pretty nerdy nerd, but even the letters J and B make me freak out and start talking about my fave detective JB Fletcher. The podcast I’m talking about is from the Retroist, which I hadn’t heard of until now. You can listen to the podcast HERE or here:

How this came about is kind of a classic Sara internet story. I was watching Dan Bell’s Cutting Room/Floor Video #5, and he mentioned this guy who puts up old K-Mart music on Archive.org. I had never heard of Archive.org, and being a weird history lover, I checked it out. It’s kind of a jackpot for me. Anyway, I found this podcast listed and it sounded cool and only got better when I saw that they had an episode on Murder, She Wrote, so HELL YEAH.

Also, new music love! I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but my music taste is weird. I literally will go from listening to like, Beastie Boys to One Direction. I’m really open to a lot of music, except for maybe most of the stuff on the radio. Which, kind of makes the sentence before that look a bit weird because I can name about 3 stations in Appleton I’ve heard 1D on, as well as at least 2 I’ve heard Beastie Boys on. Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of the newer Of Monsters and Men CD. It’s got some great songs, and I just am really digging it. I got Lany’s other EP not long ago too, which is also really good.

Unfortunately, I have developed a new obsession. The thing about me, is that I have an addictive personality. I need something to obsess over, otherwise I’m really restless and unhappy (more so than usual). This time, it’s 5 Seconds of Summer. See, there was a period about 3 years ago where I thought they were really good and I was listening to them occasionally. And then…it kind of stopped. I was kinda like “Eh.” For a while too! And then I was just suddenly in need of their newest CD, Sounds Good Feels Good. And DAMN. It was worth it. It’s so good. I get these Blink-183 and All Time Low vibes.
Even Third Eye Blind vibes and I love Third Eye

5-seconds-of-summer
Left to right: Ashton, Calum, Luke, Michael. Aren’t they adorable little Australians? (Okay, little is probably a stupid thing to say b/c I’m like only 5 ft tall) but look at their skinny legs!

Blind (something I also listen to a lot lately).  I also want to point out how cute these guys are. The only problem I have is that they’re so young. I mean, granted I’m only 22, but anyone born after 1995 to me is young? It’s just weird. and the oldest of the group, Ashton is 21 and is barely a year younger than me, but on the other hand, the youngest, Luke, is 19? I don’t know. I’m just weird. I guess I’m so used to celebrities being older than me, and now that I’m getting older, the thought of younger celebrities is just weird.

 

I think a lot of people write them off because One Direction had a hand in discovering them and then let them tour with them. I mean, the other day I was talking to my friend and she actually said: “They’re just not as good as One Direction.” And I was kind of thinking about that statement. They’re not really even that similar to One Direction. I mean, 1D is all older than them. Yeah, on Sounds Good Feels Good, there are some songs where I think of One Direction when I hear them (i.e. Vapors, kind of and Story of Another Us reminds me a bit of them), but then there are songs like Airplanes where all I can hear is All Time Low and Yellowcard. Or, even Waste the Night. It’s kind of a poppy tune, but at the same time…It’s not really comparable to a One Direction sound. In fact, Sounds Good Feels Good reminds me mmore of Radio:Active era McFly than 1D. It just has the same vibes to it that I get from Radio:Active. I don’t know. Here, listen to my favorite song by them: Waste the Night

If you want a bigger look at what I’ve been listening to, listen to the playlist I made the other day on 8tracks below:

So anyway, that’s kind of where I’m at. I had some intense vertigo earlier in the month, and while it seems to have gotten better, it’s still there. Hopefully I’m not dying or anything like that. So, I guess until the next time I feel like updating/finish a draft!

Leave a Reply

