The 30th Anniversary of Chernobyl

Due to popular demand by me, this is my obligatory Chernobyl post for the 30th anniversary. I’m not going to write a large, 5,000 word essay about the event and it’s consequences, because I know that you’ll be able to read several articles from major papers online from the event. Not only that, but there are many scientific reports on the incident if you’re into that kind of stuff. Instead of a long-winded post, I’m going to create kind of a mini-masterpost about the event. I’ll include articles you can read, books I’ve read/am reading, even pictures.

Chernobyl Children: This is an organization that helps with the children who are still living in the zone are are still suffering from Chernobyl.

Articles:

  • USA Today’s AMAZING Interactive Article
  • Wall Street Journal’s article: This article is really interesting because it visits the topic of the new cover for the reactor. Currently, the sarcophagus is the only barrier between people and the contaminated reactor. Except, the sarcophagus was built in a hurry, so it wasn’t built well, or with good materials. It’s been falling apart for years, and was only expected to last for about 30 years (so, basically it’s expired). The new cover will go over the reactor sometime in 2017.
  • History Channel’s article: This gives 8 facts that you might not have known about Chernobyl. Not to toot my horn or anything, but I already knew all of that. You might not, however! It’s a quick and interesting read which visits facts such as the wildlife boom after, the cleanup process, and even talks about how the Soviet Union tried to cover it up.
  • US New’s article: This article gives a quick look at the numbers (i.e. deaths, amount of land in the exclusion zone).
  • Nat Geo’s article on the new tomb: This is another article about the new tomb being  constructed. They interview a Liquidator (someone who was n the clean up team after the accident), as well has showing some really cool pictures.
  • Nat Geo’s other article about the animals of the exclusion zone.
  • An Interview with Gerd Ludwig: This is an interview with a photographer who was one of the first Western Photographers to get access to the reactor. He also created a book with pictures of Chernobyl called “The Long Shadow of Chernobyl”, which has been on my wish list for years. I remember holding it once while I was a Barnes & Noble. It was kind of a religious experience for me.

Books:

  • The Sky Unwashed by Irene Zabytko: A fictional story about an old woman who is displaced from the explosion.
  • Voices from Chernobyl by Svetlana Alexivich: Gives first hand accounts of people who were effected by the accident.
  • The Boy from Reactor 4 by Orest Stelmach: Book one of a series about a boy who lived in the exclusion zone. A really interesting story that also involves the Ukrainian mob. FUN STUFF! I don’t know about the newer books in the series, or if this is still happening but when I bought it, some of the money was donated to Chernobyl Children, which was the number one reason why I bought it. It ended up being a good read. Unfortunately, I haven’t had much time to read the second one, which I do own. I need to finish that…
  • All That is Solid Melts Into Air by Darragh McKeon: A book that I have yet to read, but own. It apparently looks at the collapse of the Soviet Union, using Chernobyl as a focal point.
  • The Long Shadow of Chernobyl by Gerd Ludwig: I mentioned this book above. It’s a collection of photographs of Chernobyl by Gerd Ludwig and its kinda expensive, which is why I don’t own it. Yet.

Besides these, I’ve read several other books on the topic for essays, but won’t list them because there are MANY and a lot of them are really boring if you’re not that into it. However, if you go to your local library, or your universities library, I’m sure you’ll stumble onto a jackpot of resources.

 

Good Photography:

This wasn’t as long as I was hoping, but I am going to have to conclude it there. I’ll probably add on to as time goes on, because I am always on the lookout for more stuff on Chernobyl. Hope this was helpful and also remember that if you say that Chernobyl Diaries is your favorite movie I will judge you hard.

Until next time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

