Wonderful Web: a February update

Yes, here it is. Yet another addition of Wonderful Web, minus the Wednesday. Honestly, I wish I could just post things on the days I meant to post them on, but I am so bad at keeping up with things like that. This addition will include a few  things that I want to shout out to, such as a couple tv shows and a few websites. It won’t be too long of a post (well, in Sara terms).

TV on the web:

The Kettering Incident:

Recently, I started watching a show on Amazon Prime called The Kettering Incident. I went into the show assuming it would be something like The Killing, a show about a murders. Well, it was mostly a murder a season, but one murder went on for two seasons. The Kettering Incident is similar. For the most part.

The Kettering Incident is about Anna, who returns to her hometown in Tasmania, where 15 years prior, her friend Gillian went missing. Anna is the only one who was with Gillian when it happened, and we’re told Anna has no idea what happened, and when we see the flashback, it appears

The Kettering Incident
Anna who is played by Elizabeth Debicki

that maybe she was abducted by Aliens. I know. What?! Yeah, I didn’t expect that at all, but just go with it, okay? So, now the town thinks Anna did something to Gillian, and most in the town blame her for the disappearance. Now, Anna is back, more or less because she keeps passing out and loosing time, hence how she got there. While there, yet another girl goes missing, and Anna is yet again blamed. I mean, given the evidence, I can’t blame the town.

The thing is, though, this town is mad shady. There’s secrets everywhere. One lady is having an affair with a drug dealer. Another is convinced the aliens are back. Even shadier, still, three men are going to start logging at Mother Sullivan’s Ridge, which is closed for some unknown reason to the viewer, but you can just tell it’s bad and that it may have something to do with the disappearances. As the first season progresses, the viewer is forced to wonder if maybe it isn’t Aliens after all. But, just when you start to wonder, weird things happen and then you just have no idea what is going on. The Kettering Incident is a show that will keep you guessing. I know I’ve been surprised every time a twist happens. Well, unless you read the episode synopsis’. Not a great idea if you don’t like too many spoilers. Honestly, they should rewrite those so that they aren’t so spoiler-y.

Mercy Street:

Being heavily into history, I always am on the look out for something that might get me into a specific place/person (i.e. Turn and how I became obsessed with anything Benjamin Tallmadge / Nathan Hale/ Rev-war spying-related). I’d seen a commercial for Mercy Street and thought it looked interesting, but wasn’t going to go out on a limb to watch it. Flash forward to a few days ago, when I was home alone, sick again with a very serious case of bronchitis (urgh, I know, Sara why must you always get bronchitis?). I turned on the FireStick my dad so conveniently bought my mom for Christmas. Mercy Street was the very first thing to pop up on the home page and I clicked it only to be reminded that I thought I saw Skeet Ulrich in the trailer and that I should check it out because Skeet Ulrich in Civil War era clothing sounded enticing. Even if he always plays the sleazy guy.

Well, Skeet wasn’t really in it. Turns out, when you see Jack Falahee (from How to Get Away With Murder), for only a split second, you may think you see Skeet because you’re so used to a clean shaven Bobby from Scream, not a clean shaven Jack. Also, it turns out, Jack plays a sleazy character anyway, so like…? I wasn’t that far off? But I digress…

Mercy Street is a show about an army hospital in Alexandria, Virginia. It focuses around the nurses and doctors of the hospital, as well as a few patients, servants, and a local family struggling with the seizure of their hotel and their home,

http://blog.briteproductions.net/2016/01/14/cade-martin-shoots-promo-for-pbss-mercy-street/
Mary Phinney played by Mary Elizabeth Winstead, and Dr. Jedediah Foster played by Josh Radnor from blog.briteproductions.net

essentially forcing them to live with their enemies. For the most part, it is historical, and most of the characters were real people (i.e. Jack Falahee’s character Frank Stringfellow was real, but nothing like the show’s character, along with Mary Phinney, who wrote a memoir of her time as a nurse).

While the show does get a little pushy with the politics, I am not bored. I’ve never been interested in the Civil War, more or  less because I learned more about than I did the other wars, especially the Revolutionary War. Despite this, I still don’t remember much about the Civil war. I have to say that it’s also quite cliche, but I’m okay with that. I mean, it is almost soap opera cliche, but I think the acting is well done, so it doesn’t come off as too soapy. I haven’t done too much research into the costumes, but I think they’re okay for the most part. If you know little about the Civil War, or even nurses/doctors in that time period, or you enjoy modern ER shows but need a more of a vintage twist….or you just really like war shows, check out Mercy Street. Well, don’t go for actual historical facts, because, while it’s not necessarily spewing wrong facts, it’s also not spewing facts at all. Other than that, it’s good and it’s on PBS right now, so you can watch it on tv (well, one more episode of season 2 is left for next Sunday, so hurry up and watch it all so you can watch that one on tv). I actually bought seasons 1+2 on dvd because I’m trash and i want to watch the last few episodes before they’re on tv, and also I want to get my mom into it since she stated that she wanted to watch it.

Websites that are nice/helpful:

I recently bought a sewing machine. Um, what? No, really I did. I have made two pillowcases so far, and while that doesn’t necessarily make me an expert (actually, I don’t think I’m even out of the beginner phase, or anywhere near getting there, but hopefully I’ll learn quickly so that I can make an awesome Musketeers cosplay for Halloween). In my effort to learn, I’ve been googling sewing for beginners, and also reading some of the sewing magazines up by the register at work (and I found some cool websites from there too!). I’m trying to work up to make this one blouse I found a free pattern of, and I think it will be a useful pattern because I like the way the blouse looks and could make a few in different colors and fabrics. Anyway, I’ve come across a couple websites that I’ve found helpful. I might do a post one day about the sewing books/magazines I’ve looked at while teaching myself how to sew, but I think that’s a post for a while later (like a A LOT of a while later).

indiesew.com

This website is a really good one that I actually just found today. I think it will come in handy later on. It has fabrics (albeit expensive, but cute), patterns (a lot of indie patterns!), and other things, like helpful blog posts. Another cool thing is that on each pattern that have a section where you can see people’s creations with the pattern, and some have tutorial’s to go with the techniques used in the pattern. I.e., the Santa Fe Top by Hey June. When you scroll down, you can click on one of the tabs that will direct you to the various resources, such as pattern description and details, reviews of the pattern (looks like this one has good reviews!), tutorials for top stitching and using digital sewing patterns, as well as the recommended fabrics they offer in their shop.

This isn’t the only reason I mentioned this website! I found this lovely posts on their blog about some fabrics. They’re really interesting posts that tell you what the fabrics are made of, how they feel/look, what needles to use, etc, you know the stuff you need to know. I am mentioning this, however, because it was really easy for me to read. I’m a beginner, and even though I might know a little bit more than the absolute beginner because before I started I’d been working in a fabric store, I still know next to nothing about some fabric. Here’s a link to their “Fabric Files”, the posts where they talk about the various fabrics. If you’re in need of a quick read, that also tells you where you can buy some of this fabric online (and no, they don’t plug their own fabric!), then you should try these posts out.

Colettehg.com

Colette is a little indie pattern website. They have some really cute stuff, and also give some good tips in their blog. They’re the site offering the free pattern, Sorbetto, and I think it’s absolutely adorable. Their other patterns are really cute. If you’re a beginner like me, you might want to check out their blog post for beginners: “How to Build Skills if You’re an Absolute Beginner“. It’s really interesting and gives you some pattern recommendations for you.

If you’re in need of some mad inspiration, try FrockFlicks. This website, which I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned before, is all about costumes and historical accuracy in films and tv. Of course, if you’re a beginner like me, you’re no where near making historically accurate costumes. This doesn’t mean you can’t look at this website and be well informed and also get the inspiration to strive to be that good. So, check out some of their articles, and be inspired!

So, that is going to be it for this Wonderful Web post. I’m going to be honest with you, and tell you that this has taken me over two weeks to write. It really shouldn’t take that long to write this post, since it’s not even a research paper. I have been writing a post for a few months now (more like 5 months), that involves a lot of research that just isn’t working out, so don’t get your hopes up too high. Especially since this took two weeks to write. I don’t know, guys! I think this is partially because I’ve been sick for a while. I could barely move last Monday and Tuesday because I was so weak. It was really weird. I don’t think I’ve ever felt that weak in my whole life. I have a few youtubers and podcasts I want to post about, but I think those should be on separate posts since those seem to be long anyway. I also have a few books I want to talk about/ recommend, since I’ve been doing a lot of reading. It was kind of the only thing, other than watching tv, that I could do while I was sick. I wasn’t sleeping because I couldn’t breathe, so youtube,  Mercy Street and reading were what I was doing. I couldn’t even get myself to knit, which is a bit weird because I’ve been knitting non-stop since December. Anyway, I hope you are all well and that you don’t have to experience that awful bout of bronchitis that I had. Stay healthy guys!

Leave a Reply

